09/07/2019 - Worthington 5

Race results

The Worthington 5, hosted by Ivanhoe and part of the BDSL, was held on the evening of Tuesday 9th, and saw a strong turnout of runners at this popular event, which is an out and back route down the cloud trail and fairly flat.

Ramzi Sidani was once again the first Ivanhoe runner over the line with a swift 39:01 to claim 9th position overall. On his heels, Shaun Coulton came 10th place in 30:10, with Tom Potter 30:22 on his debut 5 miler for the club and Alistair Burgwin, running well currently with a new PB time of 30:31. Also with a new personal best time by almost one minute was Karl Wideman, finishing in 30:37.

Alistair Chambers crossed the line in 31:03 in 24th place while in 25th, Nick Rowles clocked 31:17. Mark Parker came in next with 31:53, ahead of Matt Pleass (32:50) and Louis Barnes (32:56). In 46th and 48th places were Simon Terry (34:01) and Andrew Stanley (34:25), then after a gap Damon Bland (35:15) and Patrick Horn (35:35) took 60th and 62nd positions.

Lucy McDermott continued her great form as first Ivanhoe lady home by clocking 35:44, with Sophie Cooper a close second with 36:08, earning female 4th and 6th overall finishers and new PB's from both ladies. Another PB performance came from Rich Hope, clocking 36:19. Emily Partridge finished the race in 37:01, just pipping Matt Joyce to the post in 37:03.

Chris Osbourne earned another PB by clocking 37:25, while Simon Hill finished in 37:30, 7 seconds ahead of Fiona Betts, in 37:37. Colin Hope and James Ogilvie both ran debut 5 miler's in the blue vest in times of 38:11 and 38:33 respectively, while Victoria Smith crossed the line in 38:55.

Andrea Trickett crossed the line in 39:09 ahead of Martin Yeomans in 39:42 both cutting under forty minutes. Sandra Lawless was next Ivanhoe runner home, over three and a half minutes quicker than her previous best 5 miler, with Nancy Bennion (40:43) Tor Meadows-Evans (41:07), and Carolyn Osbourne (42:09) behind her. Mindy Ashton clocked a new PB also in 42:24 ahead of Sue Tait (42:38), Helen Finn (44:00) and Christine Ridley (44:16).

Liam Buckler showed vast improvement in his running times with a new PB of 44:59, ahead of Ruth Green (45:46), Sarah Malone (46:10) Jenny Hope (47:19) and Jess Southwart (47:19).

Janet Joyce continued the PB's clocking 52:55, with Grania Towle coming in at 53:05, Sonia Hoult 53:49 together with Sophie Turner also 53:49. Helen Brandon finished shortly after in 54:59 and Julie Henfrey completed the team in 1:05:15.

Written by Sarah Malone - last updated on 03/08/2019