21/01/2022 - Celebration Evening FINALE!

And now for our final two awards, the last pair of the evening to be handed their very much deserved prizes.

Each year our chairperson presents their coveted award, a closely guarded secret, with the winner known only by the main man himself, Nick Rowles.

This year, it was presented to the absolutely tremendous individual that is SONIA HOULT.

I haven’t enough words to describe what an incredible person Sonia is, both in, and out of the club. Sonia has been a trooper this year. She started out many years ago on our beginner’s programme, even completing it more than once, and this year ran her furthest distance ever, a whopping 20 miles.

She’s grappled injury but has refused to let it beat her, listening to her body but continuing to challenge herself, bringing home her pewter standard, with all races being ran virtually, which is really quite some feat to achieve without the buzz and atmosphere of a real race around you.

Our last award of the night, the Club Member of the Year, nominated and voted for by members.

This year’s nominees were Paul Averillo, Jill Singleton, Matt Humphreys, Emily Partridge, Jayne Bradshaw, Louis Barnes, Kim Harris & Victoria Smith. Well done to you all.

Our winner was nominated for the leading role they have taken on club training nights, even going as far to study for a coaching qualification. They’ve endless enthusiasm, organising virtual events and activities during lockdown to keep the spirit of the club alive.

This person is described and being friendly, polite, welcoming, and will always be there to help new members find their feet.

What an amazing individual, and a true honour to have someone so committed as part of our super club.

Your Club Member of the Year 2021 is LOUIS BARNES.

A massive round of applause please for every single one of our winners this year. A massive round of applause to Gemma Shaw for organising, for Jayne at Lyric Rooms, to Jim for the super mementos, to Nick, Mark and Victoria for presenting on the night, and to everyone involved in making not only our celebration night a success, but for all of 2021. Here’s to ’22.

You can find a list of winners on the Stats page of our website.

Written by Emily Partridge - last updated on 24/09/2022